Hide   Volume
The Communicator NEWS & POLITICS

Upcoming Superhero movies Flying to the Big Screen

super hero comics edited

Photo credit: Francisca Montenegro

super hero comics edited
Written by: Communicator StaffApril 30, 2015

Written By: Tracy Medsker

Various superhero movies will make their way to the big screen soon. In 2015, “Avengers: Age of Ultron,” “Fantastic Four,” “Ant-Man” and “Star Wars: Episode VII” will be released. In 2016 we will see these popular titles: “Deadpool,” “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,” “Captain America: Civil War,” “X-Men: Apocalypse,” “Power Rangers,” “Suicide Squad,” “Gambit,” “Doctor Strange,” “Star Wars: Rogue One” and even “Star Trek 3!”

“Avengers: Age of Ultron” will be in theaters May 1. The Avengers will combine forces once again to battle the sentient robot known as Ultron. Although, new superheroes like Scarlet Witch, Quicksilver and The Vision will be prevalent.

This summer, “Fantastic Four” will be released on June 19. Director Josh Trank takes a different approach to the classic comic tales of “Mr. Incredible,” “the Invisible Woman,” “Human Torch” and “The Thing.”

About a month later on July 17, “Ant-Man” will be in theaters. A Biochemist known as Dr. Hank Pym (Paul Rudd) uses subatomic particles, his latest discovery, to create a size-altering formula. Even though his first self-test goes wrong, he is able to develop an instrument that makes him able to communicate with and control insects.

J.J. Abrams will continue the Star Wars saga with “Star Wars: Episode VII,” which will be released December 18. “The Force Awakens” will be the first film announced after The Walt Disney Company obtained the rights from Lucasfilm in October 2012.

“Deadpool” starring Ryan Reynolds won’t be released until February 12, 2016. It is about a former Special Forces operative turned mercenary who is exposed to a rogue experiment that leaves him with accelerated healing powers and adopts the alter ego Deadpool.

The sequel to 2013’s “Man of Steel,” “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,” will be released on March 25. Currently, the plot is unknown but it will introduce fans to a broader view of the DC Cinematic Universe.

“Captain America: Civil War” will be released on May 6, 2016 and will follow the events of the Age of Ultron. The government of the world regulates all superhuman activity, which causes debate on whether to join forces with Iron Man or Captain America.

Continuing the X-Men series, comes “X-Men: Apocalypse” on May 27, 2016. The X-Men go against their most powerful enemy yet, En Sabah Nur, an ancient mutant with extreme power.

“Power Rangers,” “Suicide Squad,” “Gambit,” “Doctor Strange,” “Star Wars: Rogue One” and “Star Trek 3” are also set to be released in 2016.